Uber-list revisited

Just about one year ago, I made a list of ideas for things I’d like to accomplish in the upcoming year, an “Uber-list”. Truthfully, I’d forgotten about it until I was looking back at past blog-posts for an Small is Beautiful Top 7 list. Here is my one-year old list, along with whether or not they were realized.

1.Eat dinner at the table, not in front of the television. (Definitely! I think we’ve eaten nearly every meal in our new house of seven months at the table. So much more civilized.)

2. Spend some time outside every day. (Over the summer I was able to get outside more frequently, but dang it is COLD in the North in December. Not to mention that snow stuff.)

3. Eat at least some fruit every day. (Definitely not. I think I just don’t like fruit enough to eat it every day.)

4. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. (The only time I take the elevator at work is when I’m on call and it’s 3 AM and I have to go up 5 floors to get to my call room. Otherwise, it’s the stairs both up and down. )

5. Floss more often. (Ha ha. I also haven’t been to the dentist in…I can’t remember. Not good.)
6. Take better care of my skin. (Well, I don’t know if I’m taking better care of it but it seems to be happier since we moved North. I do moisturize more frequently.

7. Write letters to my grandmother. (Unfortunately, no. This is going on my list for 2008 too.)

8. Create something every day. (Other than medical progress notes, not so much. Maybe good will counts for something?)

9. Smile at strangers. (I think I’m probably known as the weird smiling intern.)

10. Stretch daily. (How about weekly?)

11. Listen to music instead of the TV. (This we have done. Thank God for Napster.)

12. Leave my husband love notes. (No love notes, but I do try to tell him often not only how much I love him, but how much I appreciate his being in my life.)

13. Eat less prepared food and more of what I make myself. (Getting there. Our big chest freezer in the basement helps.)

14. Practice compassion with all my patients. (Sometimes a struggle, particularly when admitting the same patient for the third time in a month for something which is pretty much her fault. But I think I’m pretty successful, I hope so anyways.)

15. Daydream less and DO more. (Not so many daydreams over the past year, too busy with living.)

16. Stop comparing my body to other women’s. (Semi-successful, although when all my colleagues are newly married, nulliparous marathon runners, it is still a challenge.)

17. Keep my house tidier. (Um…I think I know where my vacuum is located. And I can see the floor in my living room. Better than nothing.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

