poetry thursday

I’ve been thinking about doing a Poetry Thursday entry for a while, but this is the first time I’ve gotten around to it. This week’s (completely and totally optional) idea is to “try stepping inside a work of art and writing from that perspective”. I just discovered an artist named Tamara de Lempicka, an amazing Art Deco painter. I love the shape of the women she paints, they are wonderfully voluptuous, luminous. Really beautiful stuff.

lempick9sm.jpg

my new dress is green
with ruffles and clings
to my body just enough

it’s windy today
grabbing at my hat and
messing my hair

i’m waiting for you
to notice my red lips
glinting in the sun

2 Comments

Filed under Writings

2 responses to “poetry thursday

  1. Great picture and I love the poem. The last 3 lines are my favorite.

  2. Pingback: Dropping A Line « Capitulation

Leave a Reply

