A meme for me

I’ve never done one of these before, but this is a good one. Here are the rules:

1. Grab the nearest book.

2. Open the book to page 123.

3. Find the fifth sentence.

4. Post the text of the next four sentences on your blog, along with these instructions.

5. Don’t dig for the “coolest” book in your closet! Fess up to the pulpy (and delicious) novel you have sitting on the coffee table!

Here is mine, from Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson. This is a novel I’ve read a few times and never seem to remember the details of the plot, just the overall mood of the story which is foggy and wistful. I recommend it.

” Them Japanese couldn’t own land,” said Etta. “So I don’t see how them Miyamotos could think they owned ours. They-“

“Mrs. Heine,” said the judge. “Excuse me one more time.”

Thanks to Fat Doctor for this!

On the topic of books, I’m on a bit of an Isabel Allende kick. I read Daughter of Fortune first, which I really enjoyed. Right now I’m working on Eva Luna which is just charming. There are a lot of characters that manage to be interesting without feeling contrived. Next in line is Zorro. REALLY looking forward to that one!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A meme for me

  1. NaBloPoMo
    I’ll play along I added it to my blog.

  2. I used to really like Allende, but at some point stopped buying her books. Not sure why! Does she still use elements of magical realism in her current novels?

Leave a Reply

