thinking

It’s time to start my residency applications, which is hard to believe because it feels like only yesterday I was a first year medical student, full of energy and not so full of medical knowledge. I think of how I looked at the fourth-years then and I find it hard to see myself in that role. They wore slightly less than white coats, often with pockets ripped and stretched from carrying mysterious books and other paraphenalia. They carried pagers that could go off any minute, summoning them to urgent situations. Most of all, they looked like they knew what they were doing. That was how I wanted to be, and I wonder if that is how the new first years see me.

Along with thinking about how I’m perceived by the new students, I’ve been thinking about how I’m perceived by my patients. And, how I want to be perceived by my patients. I try to always be patient and kind. I hope I’m compassionate. I want to be knowledgeable. I want patients to leave my office or the hospital feeling better not just physically, but emotionally as well. When I’m writing my personal statement for my residency application, I want to convey those qualities. The challenge is going to be putting these thoughts into a coherent and readable (one page long) statement.

Here’s a quote that I’m loving right now: “My religion is very simple. My religion is kindness.” (The Dalai Lama)

Leave a comment

Filed under Medicine

Leave a Reply

